Our history

The Chlösterli - legendary since ever.

In the two centuries of its existence, the Chlösterli has experienced many things. At the beginning of the 19th century, it served as a bakery and grocery shop, then later as a residential house and inn, and even as a home. 

 

Despite all the changes and changes of ownership, one thing has always remained the same:

the dance floor with its famous dance evenings.

 

Where Liz Taylor and Roger Moore used to spend their sleepy sunsets.

From the second half of the 20th century at the latest, the Gstaad Chalet made a name for itself worldwide with its restaurant and dancing. Famous names like Roger Moore, Liz Taylor, 

David Niven, Günter Netzer and Robert Wagner have already been our guests.

Klösterli.jpg

Our hosts

Our motivated chefs and service staff are the heart of the Chlösterli Gstaad. They prepare, reinterpret and serve exceptional dishes with the highest quality and creativity. We stand for a well-functioning team to make every guest happy at the Chlösterli.

Portrait Martin Bieri_crop_edited.jpg

Martin Bieri

Martin Bieri laid the foundation for his culinary career during his apprenticeship years in Emmental and his years of travelling in establishments with typical French cuisine. He became already a chef at the age of 25 and created his own menu for the opening of a 4-star hotel. After that, he was to be found in the kitchens of many renowned addresses - at the Schweizerhof Bern, the Guarda Val in Lenzerheide or the Eggli mountain restaurant on Gstaad's local mountain, to name just a few. Most recently, he cooked at the Golf Club Gstaad, where his legendary Wienerschnitzel, delicious liver from the Gsteiger pig or the perfectly roasted Swiss poussins with sage butter were among the dishes on the menu.

 

In his innovative cuisine, Martin Bieri combines traditional, authentic dishes with a touch of exotic ingredients from Asia. And yet every guest should find a piece of home in his dishes. The commitment and passion of the Emmental-born chef were most recently rewarded with 16 Gault Millau points and a Guide Michelin star at Guardaval.

"My dishes are well-balanced and yet provide a certain element of surprise."

Notre histoire

Le Chlösterli, légendaire depuis toujours.

Durant ses deux siècles d’existence, le Chlösterli a déjà vécu bien des choses. Au début du 19e siècle, il a servi de boulangerie et d’épicerie, plus tard de demeure et d’auberge, mais surtout de club.

 

Une chose pourtant a toujours survécu aux transformations et aux divers changements de propriétaires : la salle de bal et ses soirées dansantes mythiques. 

 

C’est là où Liz Taylor et Roger Moore se disaient bonne nuit. 

C’est au plus tard dès la seconde moitié du 20e siècle que le chalet de Gstaad s’est fait un nom dans le monde entier, grâce à son restaurant et son dancing. Nous y avons déjà accueilli des célébrités, comme Roger Moore, Liz Taylor, David Niven, Günter Netzer et Robert Wagner.

Klösterli.jpg

Nos hôtes et nos hôtesses

Le cœur du Chlösterli de Gstaad, ce sont nos cuisiniers, cuisinières, serveurs et serveuses motivés, d’une qualité et d’une créativité exceptionnelles, qui préparent, réinterprètent ou servent des plats extraordinaires. Nous sommes garants d’une équipe qui fonctionne bien, afin de rendre heureux chaque client du Chlösterli.

Portrait Martin Bieri_crop_edited.jpg

Martin Bieri

C’est durant son apprentissage dans l’Emmental et ses années d’expérience dans des établissements servant une cuisine française que Martin Bieri a posé les bases de sa carrière culinaire. A 25 ans, pour la première fois, il a été chef de cuisine et a créé sa propre carte pour l’ouverture d’un hôtel 4 étoiles. On a ensuite pu le croiser en cuisine dans de nombreuses adresses renommées : au Schweizerhof de Bern, au Guarda Val de Lenzerheide ou au restaurant de l’Eggli, sur l’emblématique montagne de Gstaad, pour ne nommer que quelques-unes d’entre elles. Enfin, il a cuisiné au Golfclub de Gstaad, où l’on pouvait entre autres trouver sur la carte sa légendaire escalope pannée, du délicieux foie de porc de Gsteig ou un coquelet suisse au beurre de sauge, rôti à la perfection.

 

Dans sa cuisine innovante, Martin Bieri allie les mets traditionnels, authentiques à une touche d’ingrédients exotiques venus d’Asie. Et chaque client doit cependant retrouver dans ses plats un peu de terroir et de souvenirs. L’engagement et la passion de ce natif de l’Emmental ont été récompensés, au Guardaval, par 16 points au Gault & Millau et une étoile Michelin.

« Mes plats sont harmonieux et visent cependant à créer un certain effet de surprise. »